Pop | Symphony of Funny

Coming off of the hullabaloo that is Weird Al’s birthday, I thought I would celebrate this week’s dose of funny by honoring other musical stand-up acts.

Stephen Lynch, Don’t be fooled by his pretty voice and equally attractive face and clothing. This man has a very dirty mind and twisted sense of humor that he loves setting to acoustic guitar, which, for the record, he also plays quite prettily.  I first saw him on his Comedy Central special where he sang the classics “Special“, “Hermaphrodite“, and “Lullaby.” Here is the video from his live gig in El Ray, there’s also a CD available of this show. (From RipperBoySatanStyle)

Judy Tenuta, I came across a special of hers back in the late ’90s as part of a Special Blend montage on Comedy Central. After that, whenever a special of hers came up I watched it. She reminded me of Roseanne Barr with her brash humor and strained vocal chords, with a dash of Weird Al — playing that mini-accordion with timely stretches and discordant notes. She was loud, shiny, and hilarious! Glad to see she’s still kicking up laughs. She even has a book, Full Frontal Tenudity! Here’s video from her 1991 special “Worship Me, Pigs!” (From IWJAF’s Channel)

Tenacious D, Coming together under the most massive rock erection in the entire fucking galaxy, I present to you TENACIOUS D! [They paid me to say this.] Jack Black and Kyle Gass comprise the most epic rock comedy duo since, like, ever. And they will gladly rock you Dio-style busting mics and power sliding all the way across the club, right into your hearts. Jack and Kyle are not only funny, they’re fucking talented beyond imagination. They rock; they joke; but their gift to the world is dead serious — it did come from the devil after all. Here’s video from a 2007 Seattle concert. (From Layne Chavez)

2 thoughts on “Pop | Symphony of Funny

  1. […] If you follow my other blog, then you know that I’m taking part in National Novel Writing Month this month. That may also explain why posts here have been far fewer than normal. However, in an effort to celebrate NaNoWriMo across all of my social media arenas, I’m listing here another meme of sorts. At “The Writer’s Dig”, the regular blogging site of the Writer’s Digest Online Editor, Brian A. Klems, he’s asked his readers to make a list of the 10 Books That Never Left You. Those 10 stories that left an indelible mark on you. I’m going to do my best to get all 10 in this post–so that tomorrow I can get back to bringing you the funny! […]

Comments

