Ideas | Framed in My Corner of the Blogosphere

I grew up something of a sheltered kid. My mom didn’t have a car, though she knew how to drive, and I’ve never learned how to drive. (It’s an irrational fear I’m working hard to beat. I have my learning permit, and I count that a small victory.) So, I’ve spent a lot of my time walking around, reading travel guides, and admiring photography that can send me to another land in just a glance. I dabble in a little photography of my own, but like Jeroen Mank, I wouldn’t necessarily call myself a photographer. I’m an aesthete, above all. I want to, try to, and strive to appreciate and enjoy the beauty that exists in the world as it stands.

Jeroen Mank, from The Netherlands (a country I like to call mine, because my maternal grandmother’s ancestors moved to America from there a long time ago), captures everyday beauty and active candid shots of lovely activities like bossaball and local dog shows. He has a strong eye and captures moments beautifully. Here is an example of some of his more prominent work, street photography.
http://jeroenmank.wordpress.com/

Source: Jeroen Mank
Source: Jeroen Mank

From Russia, Markovich Arts longs to promote The Bliss of Reality, which works as the title of Alex’s blog. Combining elements of photography with aspects of poetry produces what Markovich calls “Haiku Photography”–a poetic, still moment in nature that captures a “fleeting mood and feeling the present moment.” Images can be sent to adoring onlookers as postcards, with calendars not too far behind. The dappling of the sunlight behind the curtain’s pattern makes for a great image.
http://markovich.tv/

Source: Alex Markovich
Source: Alex Markovich

Noisy Pilgrims is a meeting of six different photographers to capture the reality of India’s daily life. Candid images of people in their element, living their lives do more to inform a broader audience than any media outlet could ever capture. Each of these photographers takes a different tack in displaying all the things that make up life in India.
http://noisypilgrims.com/

Source: Ravi Kaushik
Source: Ravi Kaushik

Phoning in direct from the birthplace of former President James Madison, the Belle Grove Plantation blog offers timely photography in supplement to updates on the work being done to restore the old Virginia homestead. Their most recent post was about a documentary being filmed at the plantation, but their Fourth of July post offered some great structural photography from their estate. Holding a concert, they raised just over $600 towards repairing the late 18th-century Summer Kitchen, Smokehouse, and Ice House on their property.
http://virginiaplantation.wordpress.com/

Source: Belle Grove Plantation
Source: Belle Grove Plantation

 Overexposed + Underdeveloped is another group effort, where 8 women come together and share their love of photography. The most recent post there was a collection of 33 different images depicting 7 am around the world. They don’t update regularly, but what they post is worth the wait. Articulate, heartfelt, and warm O+U is a great place to hang out when photography and connection to a smart community is what you’re after. Here is an image from Jill Greenwood’s post about her daughters graduating college.
http://overexposedandunderdeveloped.com/

Source: Jill Greenwood
Source: Jill Greenwood

Photography really is one of my great loves in life. I love candid shots, landscapes, abstract and concept pieces, color, black and white, and modified images. There is so much beauty out there to celebrate, and photography is a great way to capture, share, and remember all that the world and its citizens have to enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Ideas | Framed in My Corner of the Blogosphere

Comments

