Virgo to a “V”

Alas, the much-heralded day has arrived! I’ve finally turned 32, not that I was much looking forward to that particular age as much as the day itself, and I’m only looking forward to the future!

Source: Corn and Co. Birthday Cake Popcorn Promo
Source: Corn and Co. Birthday Cake Popcorn Promo

So, given that I was born on September 15, I am most definitely a Virgo. Two years ago, I almost wasn’t a Virgo anymore and I wasn’t quite sure what I was going to do with myself. My mom was an avid horoscope reader when I was a kid, and I always thought it was kind of cool to believe there’s an arrangement to the stars and planets that can have a direct insight into or impact on my life. Briefly, it made me feel special and almost like I was meant to have a place in the world. Granted, I’ve grown much past that since then, but I still read my horoscope when I see a chance to glance at it.

That probably comes down to the fact that even as a child I knew the Virgo description fit me to a tee (or “V”, rather, hehehe) and it has regardless of the sources I have read to find out more. Growing up a Christian (I consider myself more of a spiritual humanist now) I was already looking toward the sky for answers, and astrology just seemed to fit right in with that ideal.

Back in the day, I would get my horoscope from the daily paper or I seem to remember TV Guide having a horoscope section, possibly? But now, I get my Astrology needs met right from the source: Astrology.com. Here’s just a tidbit of their description of the Virgo Zodiac sign:

Virgo
August 23 – September 22

Virgo is the sixth sign of the zodiac, to be exact, and that’s the way Virgos like it: exacting. Those born under this sign are forever the butt of jokes for being so picky and critical (and they can be), but their ‘attention to detail’ is for a reason: to help others. Virgos, more than any other sign, were born to serve, and it gives them great joy. They are also tailor-made for the job, since they are industrious, methodical and efficient. The sense of duty borne by these folks is considerable, and it ensures that they will always work for the greater good.

Virgo is represented by the Virgin, although this association should not be taken literally. Rather, Virgos tend to take on some of the qualities of a Virgin, things like modesty and humanity. Some might consider them repressed, although Virgins would argue that it’s a noble quality, as opposed to a negative one. Most of all, Virgos enjoy indulging their practical and logical side and poring over their projects to the nth degree. To say these folks are good at fact-finding almost understates the case, since Virgos revel in their exacting (some would argue pedantic) behavior and are a whiz with minutiae. Virgins are an asset in the workplace as they can be counted on to get things right the first time, every time — and no detail will be overlooked. They are also balanced and fair in their assessments in keeping with the Mutable Quality assigned to this sign.

Maybe that explains why I became a copy editor! 😀

Happy Birthday to all my fellow Virgins!

Comments

