Mini-Update

Hey all!

This here is my mini-update:

Working custodial for the summer at UNI. Some days are better than others. My faith in humanity dies a little bit after every destroyed room or moldy fridge I clean, but if it only takes that much I didn’t have much to begin with. 😉 Also, I think every dorm building made with brick and mortar need to be air conditioned on the regular. For realisies, I think I might die one of these days just from heat exhaustion/dehydration. I come home everyday a puddle of my former self…

I’m also working ahead on the readings for my comprehensive exams. I have two: one written and one oral. My written exam is over three books “Drinking Coffee Elsewhere” by ZZ Packer, “Frankenstein” Shelley’s original 1818 edition, and “The Canterbury Tales” by Chaucer. If anyone knows of a good Chaucer decoder ring, I would totally trade my soul for it. Frankly, the words in that book and my potential inability to understand them frighten me. The written exam will be taking place in the Fall of 2010. My oral exam is a 60 minute discussion over 15-25 texts that helped me write my thesis (200 pages of prose fiction/my novel). This I’m only a little bit scared about. But I’m sure once it gets closer to the date (Spring 2011), I will be aptly shitting myself. Ugh…

Other than that, I’ve just been sitting back, being cozy in my apartment. Looking for that special someone to fill my thoughts and heart. Eh, but that will come in time. For now, I’m just writing, reading, working and loving every rotten, stinking, putrid minute of it! 😀

Comments

