A brand new camera and This is my chance!

Hello all! This is going to be quite the update, if only because you’re getting two stories for the price of one. 😉

First, I’ve decided on a new digital camera. It’s in the mail as we speak. I went to Wal-Mart near my house (about 15 minutes away) and the cheapest cameara in stock actually had “first born child” on the price sticker. It kind of made me sick. I mean, really. I don’t even have a first-born yet. And I guess you can’t put an item with a price like that on lay-away. They did have good, more reasonably priced cameras on display and I found one I liked: Samsung S860.

Hold on! Don’t click that pretty little link yet. Come back to it, I promise it isn’t going anywhere. 🙂

The funniest thing about all of this is that on the way to Iowa Falls, to go to Wal-Mart, my sister was talking about how she had a feeling the camera I wanted would end up being on sale. I scoffed and practically laughed her out of the car. Which would have been dangerous considering the fact she was driving. Nonetheless, we got to Satan’s Shopping Mall and looked at the DigiCam stock. As I’ve already stated, nothing within my price range and I left pissed. Did I berate her for her prediction, no. I simply brushed it off as a sweet little sister’s wishful thinking. She knows how much I love photography now that I’ve taken it up.

So, we completed our other tasks and I came home to search for a new camera online. Wal-Mart had a cheaper, very un-pink version of the camera I liked at the store. But it was out-of-stock online. I just about pulled my freakin’ hair out!!! I began checking out other websites: overstock.comcircuitcity.com (more on this later), and amazon.com.

Best Buy has a connotation in my head as being expensive. Like “Just give us your arm, leg, and soul when you walk in” type expensive. And I never shop there if I can help it. However, I saw that pretty little camera (you can go ahead and click the link now if you like) ON SALE, in stock, and only about 5 dollars more expensive than Wal-Mart.

WHAT THE FRICK??? Right? I know, me too! I freaked right out. On top of the fact that the damn thing ended up being on sale. I went right into Alicea‘s room and told her about it. She just laughed and said, “Told you so.” then continued on with her video game. I went back to my room satisfied and wondering if my sister somehow contracted ESP… Hm….

Secondly, my sister and I were in the grocery store yesterday picking up some ‘zzas (“pizza” to the unwashed) when Keith, the co-owner approached me about my writing.

“I’ve heard through the grapevine that you write,” he said.

“Yeah, I write,” I chuckled, instantly blushing.

He then went on to ask me if I would write their Employee Handbook. AAAAAAAAAAHHHHH! A real, technical-writing gig. Good Lord! I’ve been told by an interested third party that I may even get paid for this. Even if I don’t, it will be a published work of mine that is used and can be applied to my resume!

Holy Tuna Fish – It’s a paying, professional writing job!

YAY! *does the happy dance*

He and his wife (the other co-owner) have all the information that I can pick up from the store in the next few days. I can take my time (Heaven!) and they completely trust me with format and writing any content that doesn’t already exist in their notes.

SWEET!!!! *continues with the happy dance* I’ve already started doing Internet research on Employee Handbook content and form. It appears to be like any other form of corporate policy manual: wordy, redundant, and HUGE! But for a small-town grocery store with less than 100 employees/positions, I don’t think this undertaking will be too much. I’m super excited, and can’t wait to get started!

FYI: If you check the Circuit City link earlier in the post, you will see that CC has closed! WTF? I really liked Circuit City when it was open. I saw it as a kind of poor man’s Best Buy, and if I remember correctly it existed before BB, didn’t it? Anyway, kind of made me sad and shocked to see that.

Hope you all enjoy your weekend! 😉

Comments

